Choosing to Be A Blessing – OKC LC Campus’ continue Flood Relief

I’ve been inspired again today by tweets and FB status updates about Lifechurch.tv OKC area campus’ helping communities clean up after the flood. Also been inspired by a lot of other tweets people have tweeted but that’s a story for another day.

The Blessing – a song by John Waller really speaks to this time and situation. It’s one of my favorite songs right now that has been inspiring me and teaching me a lot.

“Let it be said of us while we walked among the living
let it be said of us by the ones we leave behind
let it be said of us that we lived to be a blessing for life

let it be said of us that we gave to reach the dying
let it be said of us by the fruit we leave behind
let it be said of us that our legacy is blessing for life

let it be said of us that our hearts belonged to Jesus
let it be said of us  that we spoke the words of life
let it be said of us that our heritage is blessing for life..more

Not to brag on Lifechurch.tv but that is what they are doing, they are choosing to be a  blessing right now and it’s pretty amazing. I saw a tweet this morning about them being back on the worksite and I was longing to be down there in OKC so I could help out, but since I’m like 15hrs away I couldn’t exactly do that so have been just RTing their stuff and blogging about them because they are awesome and it’s all I can think about. They are inspiring and role models I look up to right now.

I wish I had some pictures and video on what they have been doing today to share, but since I don’t the video above will have to do. The Blessing video above is one of the LC campus’ being the hands and feet of Jesus awhile back, choosing to be a blessing, looks like a micro mission to an apartment complex maybe.

Doing things like this is one way the church can make a difference in their community. And you choosing to step in and join the church is how you are making a difference in your community. It’s not hard to make a difference. Choose to be a blessing for life, to desire for the lyrics of this song to be spoken of you and your church body.

If you live in OKC and are reading this what are some of the things you’ve seen happen through this flood in the church reaching out to the community? Are there other churches and organizations out there as well that I can recognize and brag about? If not in OKC what are some things you’ve seen happen in your community because of the church, or what are some things you could do to reach out?

____________________________________________________________

Related Posts/more info

Posted on June 16, 2010, in Community, Making a Difference, OKC Flood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is one of my favorite songs. I was listening to this on the way to the office this morning and thinking that this is the testimony that I want to leave behind.

Leave a Reply

