Cheerios – for kids, teens, families, and the community?

Reviewing Cheerios –

Cheerios are more than just the food. They are for kids, teens, parents, and the family too. Cheerios are fun, especially the regular ones. They are great for a snack, fill you up, and are healthy for you.

Did you know cheerios are on the web? They have a website, community, and a family.

There is information there on – parenting, games for children, what cereals to eat, benefits of eating cheerios, stories, pictures, staying healthy tips… I might as well be reviewing the website instead of the food. The website simply put is great.

Did you know that there is even a community on cheerios? Share your tips and your stories, it is a community. They have Facebook too. Cheerios food, website, box, family, community, I wonder if they have a blog too?

I like cheerios, they are great alone or in a trail mix, for breakfast, brunch, lunch, snack, supper, snack, midnight meal, all around the clock. Great for children and adults alike. Cheerios are good for the appetite.

“Cheerios has been a family favorite for years — with good reason! Its wholesome goodness is perfect for toddlers to adults and everyone in between.” http://www.cheerios.com/ourcereals/cheerios/cheerios_home.aspx

cheerios logo

Made with whole grain, Cheerios is the only ready-to-eat cereal clinically proven to lower cholesterol when eaten as part of a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol.

For kids, teens and adults, the wholesome goodness of Cheerios is ideal as a nutritious breakfast or snack. http://www.generalmills.com/brands/cereals/cheerios.aspx

Cheerios are good for you.

Having a hole in the middle, and  easily dissolved if you don’t chew, makes them great for children because they are hard to choke on. Small and tasty too.

(<– pic for new parents)

Why should you eat cheerios, are they really good for you, what has been proven? Check out the facts below.

“Cheerios…

  • is the #1 choice of cereals for moms with toddlers.
  • is recommended by 4 out of 5 pediatricians as a finger food for toddlers.
  • has only 1 gram of sugar per serving.
  • provides at least 10% of the Daily Value of 14 essential vitamins and minerals, including iron and folic acid.
  • has no artificial colors or flavors.
  • is made with whole grain oats and is a good source of fiber. The 2005 Dietary Guidelines recommend that Americans consume three or more servings of whole grain each day (for a total of at least 48 grams of whole grain.)
  • is easily managed by little fingers and helps develop motor skills because the O’s are easy to pick up, firm and resist crumbling.
  • is easy for little fingers to hold.
  • tastes great and is fun to eat!”

– http://www.cheerios.com/ourCereals/Cheerios/Cheerios_IdealFirstFingerFood.aspx

With the help of cheerios.com and generalmills.com that has been a review on cheerios.

What are some of the things you like about cheerios?

Posted on June 8, 2010, in 31 Days to Build A Better Blog, Food. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I know they are not nearly as healthy, but I’m a “Fruity Pebbles” man.

  2. You held my interest all the way through. Never would have thought about reviewing Cheerios. But I do like the Honey-Nut variety best.
    Janis

  3. Had a bowl of Cheerios this morning. Actually I mix my Cheerios with Honey Bunches and Grape Nuts. When I have them I add blueberries or strawberries. –Richard

    • Richard, is sounds like you should just try a bowl of “Fruit and Fiber” and reduce the work it takes you to eat cereal. 🙂

      • You guys are making me hungry. Fruity Pebbles, Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios, Honey Bunches and Grape Nuts, blue berries or strawberries. Maybe even a mixture of all of those.
        Why do you choose the cereal(s) you do, and why should someone eat and buy the one you like over others? What is the benefits or healthy facts behind the one you like?

        Also Larry, Richard, and Janis, I’m thinking about looking at different cereals and whatever other fun stuff you guys come up with this week. Can I use your comments in a blogpost?

  4. Great job on reviewing!

    But,

    I have given up cheerios and started eating white styrofoam packing pellets. They come in bigger boxes that my kids can play in instead of playing with the $300,000 worth of toys in their rooms. The pellets taste the same and although I have to drown them with the same amount of sugar as Cheerios, I find that I can get all the nutrition I need by dropping a flintstone vitamin in the bowl. (I like the car vitamin….no one touches the cars but me.)

    • Styrofoam packing pellets for breakfast Kevin, hmm, that would be filling. Boxes and vitamins great too. I do have to say however that packing pellets would be easy for a young child to choke on. Kevin you’re fun!

      Thanks for saying that about the comments Larry, I was wondering about that. I like what you said about the Fruity Pebbles too, your reasons are interesting. You and Kevin put together are a great pair!

    • So my son has been reading over my shoulder the past few weeks as I follow up with other blogs and my assignments in the evenings. As he was reading this post he says, “Daddy, that cowboy is funny! Can you find some more of his stuff to read.” Or at least that is what I think he said, he was giggling so hard it was difficult to tell for sure.

      • Love how you are letting your son read with you Larry, great for community and bonding time between you two.

        Kevin, you are popular, I agree with Larry’s son, you are funny!

  5. As far as I am concerned once a comment hits your blog your free to do what you want with the comments. I just ask that if you run them in a Presidential Campaign ad that you add the slogan “No New Taxes” as the byline.

    To answer your questions above:

    Why should someone eat Fruity Pebbles?

    1) You don’t frequent the outhouse nearly as often as you would with fiber based cereals.
    2) They are easier to shoot through a straw.
    3) You could never mistake them for styrofoam.
    4) They taste better than anything else.
    5) My horse likes ’em. I really don’t have a horse. Just two dogs and they will eat anything.

Leave a Reply

