Making a Difference by Living a Lifestyle of Worship

Free worship, how we express ourselves during a church service, words, feeling the Spirit, the atmosphere of worship.

Our Worship Team at Church of Christ where I live had a meeting tonight. The worship team gathered for a workshop led by a previous Worship Leader and his wife. They talked about a lot of things regarding worship and how we do things as a team while on stage and during practice. They also talked about something that some call “free worship.”

At a point during the workshop the couple played a few songs and we worshiped in our own way along with them, this could be reflecting, raising our hands, kneeling, standing, sitting, singing, or just listening. I was reminded during this time of worship and at other parts of the workshop that worship isn’t just about singing, or the tradition or style you’re used to having during the service. We are free to express ourselves by dancing, singing, raised hands, eyes closed, or just sitting and reflecting.  At points during a song service there may be a down time, a time where the team is just playing softly and reflecting on how great our God is and you don’t always know what to do with that time. This is a time for you to talk to God, to see what he is telling you and you worshipping as you feel led to in that moment.

We need to come prepared, ready for worship and ready for God to work in our lives. This time during the set is a time that if you came prepared God may be speaking to you, if you didn’t come prepared you may be hostile and wondering what is happening and why everybody seems to be feeling something that you’re not. Sometimes in particular church services I have come prepared and am feeling the Spirit in that service and often wonder if I am the only one feeling that especially when the crowd around me looks dead. You can feel the Spirit in any service if you have come prepared and invited him personally to be there and to do life with you.

The same is true in everyday life. When we let ourselves be filled with God, when we invite him to do life with us on a daily basis, maybe saying something like “Jesus I invite you to do life with me today, to use me, mold me, and create me, I invite you Father to prepare me for what’s coming up in life, for the service happening tonight and the plans you have for me. I invite you to join me, lead me and help me follow where you lead.”

“I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about You
All about You, Jesus
I’m sorry Lord for the thing I’ve made it
When it’s all about You
It’s all about You Jesus”

– Heart of Worship by Matt Redman

Worship is not just a thing we do during the “worship service” on the weekend. It’s something we do daily. “Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.” (Matthew 16:24)

Worship is a lifestyle, something that happens every moment of our day. We are worshiping God through how we live, through what we do, and the words we say. We can have that state of constant peace, be filled with joy, and other people around us may notice that peace and sense of belonging and want that. You can be at your job and be filled with that even if you don’t have Christian music, a Bible, or other Christian friends around you. All you need is God, he will do life with you if you invite him to. He can help you make those hard decisions, and speak kindly and respectfully when you don’t feel like it.

Worship is a lifestyle. Invite God to do life with you daily.

You can make a difference in those around you today by living a lifestyle of worship.

Posted on June 5, 2010, in Making a Difference and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Adetona Gbemileke Mp Lakes

    Very powerful piece! We must understand daily that the ultimate power that pulls men to God Ȋ̝̊̅§ worship! We cannot bring the lost souls back to God if our worship Ȋ̝̊̅§ not good enough. John 12:32 says that “and I, if I am lifted up(worshipped) from the earth, I will draw all men unto M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥! If we wqant to  men being saved, we must live worship!!! Shalom!

Leave a Reply

