Questions to Ask When You Need Blog Post Ideas

Laying here feeling the need to blog. But what to blog about. I could blog about this or that or this or that but what do I choose? Guess I’ll just start typing and see what happens. This is how I’m feeling right now, though what to blog about? Maybe I’ll blog about just that.

I find that sometimes when I can’t decide what to blog about if I just start typing it’ll organize itself and have turned into a good post of sorts by the end. Here are a few questions you can ask yourself that I’ve found help me when I can’t think of something or not sure which one to choose –

  • What have I done or learned today? Could this benefit other bloggers?
  • What is something my readers need or want to hear about?
  • Is there something I’ve been wanting to blog about but haven’t found the time to?
  • Can I just start typing and let my hands and mind work together and let a blog post form?
  • Could I blog about something in the song I’m listening to, or a the book or blog article I’m reading?
  • What’s happening on twitter or Facebook that I could blog about?
  • Would what I’m thinking about help another reader?
  • What’s happening around me that I could blog about?
  • Is it time for a journal entry or to blog about something that needs to be done around my blog?
  • What scripture or quote did I just read, could I share that?

These are a few of the many questions I’ve used when looking for something to blog about. What do you do, how do you discover what to blog about when you’re not sure?


Posted on May 24, 2010, in Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

