31dbbb days 8-12

Day 8 – Interlink Your Old Blog Posts , Day 9 – Join a Forum and Start Participating, Day 10 – Set Up Alerts to Monitor What is Happening in Your Niche, Day 11 – Come Up With 10 Post Ideas, Day 12 – Develop an Editorial Calendar for Your Blog

I’m really enjoying participating in  31dbbb with a group of other bloggers. It’s a lot of fun and we are learning together. I think the best part besides learning and community is that we get to read each others blogs and see what they are blogging about. Actually visiting blogs instead of just reading the posts through rss has been great. I need to start actually visiting some of blogs I read through rss.

Days 8 -12 have all been great. Interlinking old blog posts is a great way to reuse and bring them up again. It can also be helpful if you need to explain something in the post you are writing but know you already wrote about it, you can just interlink that post so you don’t have to say it all twice.

Participating in forums and setting up alerts can be ways to see what is happening and give you ideas of what to write about for your line of blogging. Being that I seem to write about a little bit of everything  – sometimes a story, advice, how I feel about something, writing about community which I’m not sure where that type of writing fits with what I say I write about, need to figure out that word to describe that and add it to my niche. Google alerts works great, you just type in what you want to be notified about and how often and it’ll be sent to your email inbox.

Thinking ahead on what to write about is a smart idea. I didn’t have to think too hard to come up with 10 things to write about because I have a ton of ideas, some are series and some are single posts while others could be either.

Today we’re supposed to make a calendar that shows when we blog and what that post will be about each day. When I’m doing a series I know what to do the next day but sometimes you get lots of other ideas that you feel should be blogged about too and having a calendar you can record those ideas or schedule them into a day. This picture is my current ideas for this week, the title is just telling me what it’ll be about. And the color coding tells me if it’s a one time post or a series of posts. Like the blue are all on community, the yellow shows me I have nothing scheduled yet. This is just one example of how you can schedule. I’ve seen lots of ideas out there.

What have you learned or enjoyed from 31dbbb days 8-12?

Posted on May 18, 2010, in 31 Days to Build A Better Blog. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like planning with color. Thanks for the color coding tip! Any other ideas you pass on will be great!

    • Hey, LaShorne
      Thanks for stopping by. I do have more ideas that I can pass on. Some are my own, others have come from 31dbbb and other bloggers.
      This will make a good blog post for the near future, I’ll share them then!

Leave a Reply

