Mother’s Day & Child Dedications

Happy Mothers Day to all the moms out there! Many churches celebrated Mother’s Day today. At Living Hope Vineyard Church we celebrated our Mothers and also did Child Dedications. The message Pastor Skip Preston preached was on “Raising Kids who are Crazy in Love with Jesus.” I want to share with you what I’ve learned today and say Happy Mothers Day!

“Happy Mothers Day”
“Happy Mother’s Day” means more
Than have a happy day.
Within those words lie lots of things
We never get to say.
It means I love you first of all,
Then thanks for all you do.
It means you mean a lot to me,
And that I honor you.
But most of all, I guess it means
That I am thinking of
Your happiness on this, your day,
With pleasure and with love
– Raul

From what I’ve heard Child Dedication at LHVC seems to be the same as that at Stonebriar Community Church “A child is a God-given trust (Psalm 127:3). Child dedication is a Sunday-morning ceremony that signifies your commitment to uphold that trust. It is an event that symbolizes your pledge to raise your child in a Christian home and church where he or she can come to know, love, and serve Jesus. It also signifies a commitment by the people of Stonebriar to provide a loving, biblical community that supports and prays for your family.”

Child dedication is a special day, same as Mother’s Day. I love how LHVC puts these on the same Sunday, what a great time to do it. You get to celebrate children and mothers. “A Mother’s Prayer” is a great video and song by Rachel Aldous. Great video to go along with dedicating children or as a way to remember this event.

In the message this morning I learned that it takes a village to raise a child. This means the school, community, neighborhood, church, and everybody your child hangs out with. We all help raise each others children. People influence your children all day long. For our kids to be crazy in love with Christ we have to be crazy in love with him too. Our actions sometimes speak louder than our words. Plant into the life of a child and you will harvest a future.

I want my children, when I have children of my own, and the children I’m around to be crazy in love with God. I can help them be crazy in love with God by how I live, and being an example of what it looks like to be crazy in love with God. Letting my actions speak louder than my words.

Be crazy in love with God, let your actions speak louder than your words, have a great rest of your Mother’s Day, and remember your commitment to raise your children for God if you’ve dedicated your child(ren).

Posted on May 9, 2010, in Seasons & Holidays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi
    Thanks
    we had a nice moms day
    visiting you from 31DBB

  2. Hi
    I also liked your post on WHY you started blogging..love it! I love to hear inspiration stories!

Leave a Reply

