The Children: how I started blogging

A few days ago as I was reading Tony Morgan’s blog I was inspired to start blogging (thanks Jen and Tony!). He talked about his sister Jen who works at an orphanage in Cambodia.  This video of the Children of Cambodia made a difference in my life. I want to work with children like these.

After watching this video several times I really wanted to share it. I was able to retweet it but there is so much more behind it. I couldn’t put everything I wanted to share in 140 or 280 characters. It was “beyond 140.” It’s beyond the words I have to describe what I’m thinking, feeling, and sensing even here.

I want to work with children like these, I feel called to do something with children with my life. I don’t know if this means working in a school, in a daycare, babysitting, children’s ministry, or what. I’ve wondered if God is calling me out of the USA to work with children like at an orphanage like this or something, but then realized that I get to work with children just like these right here  in Lansing every Tuesday night. I enjoy the time I get to spend with them and have realized through them that you don’t have to go overseas to work with darker colored children. I don’t have to go out of the country, they are right here in the city, in my neighborhood, all around me. (I like all colored children, just for this it’s about darker children)

The other part of the video, besides all of the amazing, cute, fun children, was the music Jen chose to put behind it. “While I’m Waiting by John Waller.” The images go right along with the lyrics. “While I’m waiting, I will serve You, while I’m waiting, I will worship, while I’m waiting, I will not faint, I’ll be running the race, even while I wait,” – John Waller

That is what I’m trying to do. While I’m waiting on God to either return or lead me the next step I want to serve, worship, and keep running this race while I’m waiting. That’s what I want him to find me doing. The rest of the song is great too, listen to the video or google the lyrics. God has plans for us, for good and not disaster, to give us a future and a hope. He knows how he’ll use this gift as well as all the other gifts he has given me and you. And I’m trying to just float and go with it, take the opportunities he gives me and see what I’m going through as part of this plan.

Posted on April 27, 2010, in about this blog. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tamera Walker

    thanks for sharing the link to the song. never heard it before and really liked it. I am putting together a photo video for teacher appreciation at our church and this might be a good one to go with that!

Leave a Reply

